Fire Marshal Achievement of Excellence Award

Fire Marshal’s Office Recognized at Annual Texas Fire Marshal ConferencePictured Left to Right: Laurie Christensen (Texas Fire Marshal Association President); Steven McDonald (Fort Bend County Fire Marshal Assistant Chief); Robert Matheson (Fort Bend County Fire Marshal Deputy Chief); David Zietz (Fort Bend County Fire Marshal Investigator/Inspector); Mark Flathouse (Fort Bend County Fire Marshal); John Erskine (Texas Fire Marshal Association Vice – President) and Ariana Hargrove (Texas Fire Marshal Association – Board Member)

County Judge Fort Bend County, TX

Robert E. Hebert Fort Bend County Judge Phone (281) 341-8608

For Immediate Release


FORT BEND COUNTY, TX – On October 19, 2017 the Fort Bend County Fire Marshal’s Office received the Texas Fire Marshals Association’s (TxFMA) Achievement of Excellence Award and a Letter of Appreciation from the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (TCOLE) at the Annual Texas Fire Marshal Conference in Austin.

The Achievement of Excellence in Fire Prevention Award (AEFP Award) is an annual award that recognizes organizations for performance excellence in fire prevention. Established in 2008 and administered by TxFMA, the official state chapter of the International Fire Marshal’s Association, this award is the only formal recognition for performance excellence of organizations given by TxFMA.

The TCOLE Letter of Appreciation identifies the outstanding Fort Bend County Fire Marshal staff and its leadership as a TCOLE agency for their assistance with projects that affect the Houston area as well as their aid to future licensed police officers.

Fort Bend County Fire Marshal Mark Flathouse said, “Applying for this award represents the hard work and teamwork that the entire office completes daily.  Receiving the Gold level, shows that the staff are on top of their field of work.  I am proud to be a part of this organization and look forward to what we can accomplish in the future.”


**Please visit for more information pertaining to local events and updates.**